How high we go in the dark : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Appears on list
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Brooks Memorial Library - Fiction - 1st FloorNAGChecked OutMarch 14, 2024
Fletcher Memorial Library - Fiction - Main LibraryFIC NagOn Shelf
Georgia Public Library - Fiction - Main LibraryFIC NAGOn Shelf
Manchester Community Library - Main LibrarySCI-FI Nagamatsu, SequoiaOn Shelf
Putney Public Library - FictionFIC NAGOn Shelf
Show All Copies

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Format
Book
Physical Desc
292 pages ; 22 cm
Language
English

Notes

Description
"For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, a spellbinding and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague-a daring and deeply heartfelt work of mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice. Beginning in 2030, a grieving archeologist arrives in the Arctic Circle to continue the work of his recently deceased daughter at the Batagaika crater, where researchers are studying long-buried secrets now revealed in melting permafrost, including the perfectly preserved remains of a girl who appears to have died of an ancient virus. Once unleashed, the Arctic Plague will reshape life on earth for generations to come, quicklytraversing the globe, forcing humanity to devise a myriad of moving and inventive ways to embrace possibility in the face of tragedy. In a theme park designed for terminally ill children, a cynical employee falls in love with a mother desperate to hold onto her infected son. A heartbroken scientist searching for a cure finds a second chance at fatherhood when one of his test subjects-a pig-develops the capacity for human speech. A widowed painter and her teenaged granddaughter embark on a cosmic quest tolocate a new home planet. From funerary skyscrapers to hotels for the dead to interstellar starships, Sequoia Nagamatsu takes readers on a wildly original and compassionate journey, spanning continents, centuries, and even celestial bodies to tell a story about the resiliency of the human spirit, our infinite capacity to dream, and the connective threads that tie us all together in the universe"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Nagamatsu, S. (2022). How high we go in the dark: a novel (First U.S. edition.). William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Nagamatsu, Sequoia. 2022. How High We Go in the Dark: A Novel. William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Nagamatsu, Sequoia. How High We Go in the Dark: A Novel William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2022.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Nagamatsu, Sequoia. How High We Go in the Dark: A Novel First U.S. edition., William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2022.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.